STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C9-81-1206 C0-85-2205 C2-84-2163

PROMULGATION OF AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

~ 1

ORDER

WHEREAS, the Client Security Board and the Board of Continuing Legal Education filed reports with this Court that recommended amendments to Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys regarding allocation of the registration fee, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court held a hearing on the recommendations on April 14, 1998, and

WHEREAS, an order filed by this Court on August 6, 1997 and effective until June 30, 1998 directed that the Board of Continuing Legal Education's allocation of the registration fee be increased from \$7.00 to \$14.00, and that the Client Security Fund's allocation be reduced from \$20.00 to \$13.00, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has reviewed the recommendations and is fully advised in the premises,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1. The temporary reallocation of attorney registration fees for the Board of Continuing Legal Eduction and the Client Security Fund contained in the August 6, 1997 order is revoked July 1, 1998

1

2. Rule 2 (A),(B) and (C) of the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys are amended as follows:

đ,

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

A. In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such admission, with exception hereafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereinafter annually pay to the clerk of the appellate courts a registration fee in the sum of Two Hundred and Seven Dollars (\$207.00) or in such lesser sum as the court may annually hereafter determine.

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January, April, July, or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the appellate courts.

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows: \$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners \$14.00 <u>10.00</u> to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education \$110.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board \$13.00 17.00 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund

\$50.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars (\$25,000.00) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of One Hundred Eighty-two Dollars (\$182.00). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twenty-Five Dollars (\$25.00),

B. The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee

of One Hundred and One Dollars (\$101.00):

. .

* 4

(a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state;

(b) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States.

The One Hundred and One Dollars (\$101.00) so received shall be allocated as follows:

\$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners\$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education\$24.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board\$50.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars (\$25,000.00) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of Seventy-six Dollars (\$76.00). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twenty-Five Dollars (\$25.00),

C. Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years shall pay an annual registration fee of Ninety-six Dollars (\$96.00).

The Ninety-Six Dollars (\$96.00) so received shall be allocated as follows: \$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners \$ 14.00 10.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education \$24.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board \$13.00 17.00 to the Client Security Fund \$25.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee.

3

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars (\$25,000.00) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of Eighty-three dollars and fifty cents (\$83.50). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twelve Dollars and fifty cents (\$12.50

- 3. The Client Security Board shall report to the Supreme Court if the Client Security Fund goes below \$1.5 million or above \$2.5 million, and shall, if the Fund remains within these parameters, review the assessment in five years to ensure its continued appropriateness and make a report to this Court.
- 4. The changes in the allocation of attorney registration fees shall be effective July 1, 1998, and for new licenses issued on or after July 1, 1998 and will remain in effect until July 1, 1999. The Court will re-examine the allocation for subsequent years and may reallocate an additional \$2 currently allocated to the Client Security Board.

DATED: May 22, 1998

BY THE COURT:

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

MAY 2 2 1998

Kathleen A. Blatz

Chief Justice

4